Skip to Content
WDPL Logo
Header Image
My Account
Advanced Search
Home
 

Emergency Closing Info

Contact Us
Wood Dale Public Library
520 N. Wood Dale Road
Wood Dale, IL 60191
Phone: 630-766-6762
Fax: 630-766-5715
Email:
Contact Us!
Library Hours
Monday - Thursday
10:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday - Saturday
10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday (From Labor Day to Memorial Day)
1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Online Databases

A to Z Maps Online
A to Z Maps Logo AtoZMapsOnline - with its collection of more than 146,000 maps offers a large database of static, animated, real-time, scientific, and antique maps in one easy-to-access place. A sampling of features contained in AtoZMapsOnline includes outline maps, political maps, physical maps, environmental maps, topographic maps, and weather maps. You can use the thousands of maps in any way you wish. This includes use for print and electronic reports so long as the map is not resold.
Ancestry® Library Edition - IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY
Proquest Logo

Ancestry Library Edition makes family research easy for beginners while still providing in-depth tools for even the most advanced genealogists. Recent search enhancements offer intuitive content organization, image enhancing and simplified on-screen navigation. Plus, a new Enhanced Viewer allows nearly all content to be viewed through this one interface.
It’s a resource that both the beginner and the advanced researcher can use again and again to explore history, and their own family’s history. In-Library use only.

Careers Transitions
Career Transitions icon

From younger individuals exploring potential career paths to those who are in need of a new career direction Career Transitions can help. Career Transitions is a self-paced, easy to use tool that walks job-seekers through the entire process from assessing strengths and interests, to exploring new opportunities. With Career Transitions users can:

  • Prepare – build, save, retrieve and update personal career information with a career toolkit
  • Assess – explore current skills, occupational knowledge and interests and match them with fulfilling career paths
  • Explore – investigate thousands of career paths, industries, locations and companies
  • Apply – search job listings from around the country that meet user criteria
ChiltonLibrary.com
ChiltonLibrary.com Icon

When it comes to auto repair, "do-it-yourselfers", students and automotive enthusiasts have trusted Chilton repair manuals for years. ChiltonLibrary supplies a solution for the “do-it-yourselfer” that is easy to use no matter the skill level. Repair, maintenance and specification tables provide critical data on thousands of domestic and imported models of cars and light trucks from 1940 onward.

Find-A-Book The Lexile Framework for Reading
Lexile Framework Logo The Find-a-Book website uses a student’s reading score in Lexiles, a measure of reading ability and
text difficulty derived from state standardized tests, including the ISAT to find just the right books for students. The website also features a search option to access appropriate book choices based on grade level and comfort with typical reading materials at that grade level.
Freegal
Freegal Music, an online database, provides access to songs from Sony Music. The music files are DRM-free, do not expire and are compatible with PC’s, Macs, iPods, iPads, and other MP3 –compatible devices. All Wood Dale Library cardholders are eligible for three MP3 downloads per week. Your library card number and PIN are necessary to access and download songs.
General Reference Center - 1980 to present
Gale General Reference Center Icon A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center to find articles from magazines, reference books, and newspapers, many with full-text and images. Find articles on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
 Health and Wellness Resource Center - 1980 to present
Gale Health and Wellness Icon Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, Inc., hundreds of pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
HeritageQuest Online
Heritage Quest Online Logo HeritageQuest Online™ combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical and historical researchers, with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Researchers can use HeritageQuest Online to find their ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled.
Legal Forms
Legal Forms icon Gale LegalForms provides convenient, authoritative means for understanding common legal procedures through access to “attorney forms”. Gale’s officially-approved, professionally-written documents are accessible and downloadable in Microsoft Word, Adobe Acrobat, as well as other formats.
Mango Languages
Mango Languages Logo

Mango is an online language-learning system that teaches actual conversation skills for 48 different language courses including English (ESL). Use Mango Basic courses to quickly learn some basic words and phrases for your business trip or short trip overseas or Mango Complete courses which are aimed at students who want to move beyond basic language skills.

Immediate Online E-Books and Audio Books
MyMediaMall Hundreds of new books can now be checked out from the comfort of your home. This new service allows Wood Dale Library patrons to download e-books to their computer to read. The service also has audio books available to download and play on your pc, mp3 player or you can burn them to cd for listening. If you would like to visit this service please click on the “My Media Mall” icon.
To learn more about using this service check out these video tutorials!
Novelist Plus
Novelist Logo NoveList Plus is a complete resource for fiction and nonfiction pleasure reading. NoveList Plus offers bibliographic information on more than 200,000 titles, including over 50,000 nonfiction titles selected for their appeal to the general reader. NoveList Plus offers a rich array of customized feature content such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles by the top names in the industry. Hundreds of ready-made, hand-crafted reading lists on popular fiction and nonfiction genres provide additional support for readers looking for their next great read.
Novelist K-8 Plus
Novelist Logo
NoveList K-8 Plus is a powerful tool to support learning, develop reading ability and encourage life-long appreciation of fiction and nonfiction for K-8 readers. Books can be found matching many different search criteria including the Lexile readability measure, a plot description, a favorite author, an award, or a book similar to one already read and enjoyed based on theme, setting or a myriad of other factors.
OCLC FirstSearch
 OCLC FirstSearch Logo OCLC FirstSearch is a comprehensive and complete reference service with a rich collection of databases and with links to the World Wide Web, over 10 million online full text articles, full-image articles from over 4,000 electronic journals, library holdings, and interlibrary loan. It supports research in a wide range of subject areas with well-known bibliographic and full-text databases in addition to ready-reference tools such as directories, almanacs and encyclopedias.
Price It! Antiques & Collectables
Price It! Antiques & Collectables Icon With more than 60 million images, 127 searchable categories and intuitive search functionality, Price It! Antiques & Collectibles is the ultimate identification, research and pricing tool for collectors, dealers, appraisers and anyone in between.
 Record Information Services
Record Information Services Logo This resource lets you access various public records for the following counties: Cook, Dekalb, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, Mc Henry & Will. The database includes public records for new homeowners, new businesses, bankruptcies, and foreclosures & sales.
Testing & Education Reference Center
Testing and Education Reference Center icon Testing & Education Reference Center, an online resource that offers access to career certifications, high school, undergraduate and graduate school programs, finding tuition assistance providers, or using the many career exploration tools, students and their parents, as well as adults exploring new career paths, will find the newly enhanced Testing & Education Reference Center the most complete online resource for improving future success.
Tutor.com
Tutor.com Logo image Get an online tutor. Find a resource 24/7. Wood Dale Public Library offers free academic and career resources and tutoring from Tutor.com for all students and adults through the library's Tutor.com link.
K-12 and college students can get help with homework, studying, projects, essay writing and test prep in every subject, including algebra, statistics, chemistry, physics, social studies and English.
Adults can get help with resume writing, GED prep, and academic support.
All sessions are online and one-to-one with a live tutor. There are also tutors available in Spanish for math, social studies, and science.
Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Center Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7 from the library or from any remote location.
New! World Book Web
World Book Web
World Book Online for Kids Logo
World Book Online Info Finder Logo
World Book Online Reference Center Logo
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos Logo

- World Book Online for Kids offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.
- World Book Online Info Finder contains content and features designed for school-aged patrons’ homework and research needs. A rich collections of multimedia on a variety of topics, science fair projects; a Biography Center; links to world newspapers, correlations to curriculum standards, research guides, and more.
- World Book Online Reference Center is a reference tool for advanced researchers and information seekers. The site features e-books, articles, and primary source documents. Additional features such as Computer and Web Tutorials, How To... documents, and Government Resources are also available.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos offers World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and interactive features in Spanish.


© Wood Dale Public Library 2008